Rob Minkoff,Jury President of the 9th Tiantan Award

  Rob Minkoff is an American film director best known for the Academy Award winning film, The Lion King. Featuring a star studded cast including James Earl Jones, Matthew Broderick and Jeremy Irons, with music by Elton John and Tim Rice. This culminated a 12 year career at Disney which included a variety of positions on such films as The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast and The Great Mouse Detective.

  Following the success of The Lion King, Rob left Disney to direct Stuart Little and Stuart Little 2, based on the books by E.B White. Starring Geena Davis, Hugh Laurie and featuring the voices of Michael J. Fox and Nathan Lane, these films combined live-action with computer animation marking an early effort in the development of those mixed mediums. In 2003, Rob returned to Disney for the Eddie Murphy starrer, The Haunted Mansion.

  Then in 2007, Rob traveled to China to direct Jackie Chan and Jet Li in The Forbidden Kingdom. This martial arts mashup is still considered one of the most successful US-Sino coproductions. He then returned to the world of animation for Dreamworks’ Mr. Peabody & Sherman.

  Rob is currently in pre-production on Blazing Warrior, an animated remake of Mel Brooks’ classic comedy, Blazing Saddles, featuring the voices of Samuel L. Jackson, Ricky Gervais, Michael Cera, and Mel Brooks. He is currently developing Wolf Totem, an animated adaptation of the best-selling Chinese novel.

Silvio Caiozzi,Jury of the 9th Tiantan Award

  Silvio Caiozzi was born in Chile in 1944 and graduated as a Bachelor of Arts at Columbia College in Chicago, USA in 1967. His films have received nearly 100 national and international prizes, thus making him one of the most awarded directors of Latin America.

  In 1979 he released Jules Starts In July, the first film entirely directed by him. This awarded film was chosen by popular vote as “Best Chilean Film of the 20th Century”. In 1990 Silvio Caiozzi produced and directed The Moon In The Mirror which he developed the script together with the world-famous writer José Donoso. This film was nominated for Golden Lion at the 47th Venice Film Festival, which is also the first Chilean film that has been selected in the Official Competition in a Category A Festival. Later, he made the films Coronation (2000) and Cachimba (2004), both awarded films were based on literary works of José Donoso. At the 23rd Montreal World Film Festival Silvio Caiozzi was awarded as Best Director for his film Coronation. On September 4th, 2017, his latest film “…And Suddenly the Dawn” received the Best Film Award at 41st Montreal World Film Festival and, on October 17th, 2018, the Chamber of Representatives of Chile honored Silvio Caiozzi for this film. In the same year, he served as the jury President of the 42nd Montreal World Film Festival.

Baoping Cao,Jury of the 9th Tiantan Award

  Baoping Cao, born on January 2nd, 1962, is a renowned Chinese film director, screenwriter, and producer, best known for his films Trouble Makers (2006), The Equation of Love and Death (2008), The Dead End (2015), Cock and Bull (2016), and Einstein and Einstein (2018). As the leading director of Chinese crime films, he has been praised as "the best actor creating machine" for many actors in his works won Best Actor/Actress Awards. He received several accolades including Golden Goblet Award for Best Director at the 18th Shanghai International Film Festival, the 33rd People’s Hundred Flowers Award for Best Film and the Altadis-New Directors Award at the 56th San Sebastian International Film Festival. He served as the jury member for the 20th Shanghai International Film Festival, 11th FIRST International Film Festival, and 19th Mumbai International Film Festival, etc.

Sergey Dvortsevoy,Jury of the 9th Tiantan Award

  Sergey Dvortsevoy, a world-known Russian director. His films have received numerous international acclaims, prizes and recognition at festivals around the world, including the nomination of Bread Day (1998) for the prestigious Joris Ivens Award at the Amsterdam International Documentary Film Festival. People living in and around Russia in transition trying in their individual ways to eke out an existence is one of his concerned subjects. His first feature film Tulpan (2008) won Un Certain Regard Grand Prize at the 61st Cannes Film Festival, Best Director and Tokyo Grand Prix at the 21st Tokyo International Film Festival in 2008. His latest movie Ayka (2018) has been selected to compete for Palme d'Or and won the Best Actress at the Cannes Film Festival in 2018.

Carina Lau,Jury of the 9th Tiantan Award

  Carina Lau is a famous actress in Hong Kong, China. In 1984, she graduated from the 12th Artist Training Class of Television Broadcasts Limited (TVB). In the same year, she was especially notable as the heroine of Police Cadet.

  Lau then turned to films. She won the Best Actress award at the Festival of the 3 Continents for her role in Days of Being Wild (1991); with impressive performances in Intimates (1997) Lau won the Best Actress award of the 3rd Golden Bauhinia Awards in 1998. Thanks to Curiosity Kills the Cat (2006), she won the Best Actress award at Golden Rooster and Hundred Flowers Film Festival; by the blockbuster Detective Dee and the Mystery of the Phantom Flame (2010), she won the Best Actress award at the 30th Hong Kong Film Awards. She was awarded the Best Actress at the 9th Osaka Asian Film Festival for her role in Bends (2013). In 2015, with the stage play Tonnochy, she was selected for the first time, and finally awarded the Best Actress of the 24th Hong Kong Drama Awards. In 2017, it was the first time for her to serve as the executive producer of In Your Dreams (2018), the prize-winning work of the 2nd First Feature Film Initiative. She was also the heroine of the film. It was also invited to be one of the opening films and competition films of the 2017 Hong Kong Asian Film Festival.

  In 2017, she officially became a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Majid Majidi,Jury of the 9th Tiantan Award

  Born in Tehran in 1959, Majid Majidi, honored as the nationally celebrated director, is the first Iranian director who won an Academy Award Nomination for the Best Foreign Language Film with his Children of Heaven (1997). Majid worked as an actor at first and then turned to directing some short films. His directorial debut feature—Baduk (1992) was presented at Director’s Fortnight in Cannes 1992. Then with his second venture—Father (1996) he got his first major prize at San Sebastian International Film Festival. Majid is a triple-times-winner of Grand Prix of Americas at Montreal World Film Festival for Children of Heaven (1997), The Color of Paradise (1999) and Baran (2001). Winning the best actor award, his The Song of Sparrows (2008) was well received at the 58th Berlin International Film Festival.

Simon West,Jury of the 9th Tiantan Award

  Simon West is a British born and Hollywood based film director and producer. His films include Con Air starring Nicholas Cage, The General's Daughter starring John Travolta and Lara Croft: Tomb Raider starring Angelina Jolie. West is the only live action director ever whose first three films all grossed over $100m at the US box office. West also served as an executive producer on the Oscar nominated Black Hawk Down. He directed the action packed remake of The Mechanic starring Jason Statham and Ben Foster and The Expendables 2 starring almost every action star in the movie world. West is currently in post production on his first Chinese movie SkyFire, the first story of volcano on the Chinese-language screen, which is initiated by a Chinese production company and teaming with the world’s top creatives.